News from Galicia

Last week, I received the following from our Galician friend Jorge Guitián:

Hi,
I’m just writing to share with you all my blog about Galician (NW Spain) rock art. I’ve been researching Galician Rock Art since 1999. Nowadays my profession is not related with rock art research, but for more than a decade me and my father published more than 130 new rock art sites, mainly in A Coruña province.  I’m still interested in Rock Art, and we are still making some field research, but our work don’t give us many chances to conduct a systematic research.
Last year I tried to publish a blog, as a way to share my passion about rock art but, once again, work leave me without time to update it regularly. It is stopped by now, but I hope to come back to work soon in the future. Please, feel free to visit the site (Petroglifos de Galicia) and to use the pictures in it in your galleries of world RA. There you’ll find also a brief CV. If you are interested in any of my papers, please let me know. Regards,

I am very happy to accept Jorge’s generous offer and will post some of his great photos to the “Worldwide Rock Art Selection” soon.

Cheers,

Jan

6 Responses to News from Galicia

  1. GraemeC says:

    Thanks for the update Jorge
    i like the folklore and stories connected with carved rocks because it can be an indication as to what people beleived the carvings were about – at least in more recent times.
    I should have known zebra’s are not very common in Galicia 🙂
    But ‘the rock of the big goats’ sounds a much better translation and brings to mind the ‘big horn sheep’ rock art in the American south-west.

  2. Jorge Guitián says:

    By the way, your translation of Laxe dos Cebros is wrong because it is a Galician name, not Spanish. A “Laxe”in Galician is a wide rock. “dos” means “of the” and not “two”, as “dos” in Spanish. “Cebros” is a difficult word, since it does not exists. You can translate it as an augmentative os “cabras”, goats, more than “cebras”, zebras. So, a rough translation of that name could be Wide Rock of the Big Goats.

  3. GraemeC:

    There are a lot of legends about archaeological sites here in Galicia. Petroglyphs are not the most common issue, but they are involved in quite a few. I remember a tale told to my father when he was a child in a small village where he spent his holidays. According to tradition, during St.John’s night a hen with some golden chicks appears at a prominent rock in a nearby mountains. Decades later, my father found that prominent rock is Laxe Negra, a well known rock art site with a lot of animalistic depictions near Santiago de Compostela.

    If you are interested in that themes, let me suggest you a book: Mouros, serpientes y otros encantos. Mitología popular gallega (Moors, snakes and other enchanted beings. Galician traditional myths) written by Buenaventura Aparicio Casado.

  4. Hob says:

    Nice one Mr G 🙂 Been looking for something like that for a while now.

  5. GraemeC says:

    I sympathise with Jorge on the lack of time available to follow his interests, many of us have busy lives.

    Still thanks for his Blog (I used google translate to read the text). I am always interested to see examples of Galician rock art, especially the combinations of animals alongside cup and ring carvings.
    One question to Jorge if he reads this, are there any stories or folklore connected with the carved rocks, Or their names – laxe dos cebros? =two zebras?

    GraemeC

  6. AtotoDoda says:

    It looks like you are a true pro. Did you study about the topic? haha

Leave a Reply

